Why I wanted to become a software engineer?

Why I wanted to become a software engineer?

What made me choose a software engineering career

A brief history about myself

Being a software engineer is much more than programming. It is more about being product-oriented, helping people achieve their goals, and solving problems. Lots of folks see me as mad, for choosing a software engineering career path. As a female, it is expected and even opined, 'Why don't you learn baking, cooking, tailoring or even something more feminine and I wonder feeling a bit intimidated. But it didn't last for long because I am a software engineer today and working hard daily to become even better. I have had so many challenges such as network, electricity, data subscription, and the funniest is being a female, yes you read rightly sometimes I have to remind family members that I am one and I have tasks to finish and they should slow down on the errands. I am a young Lady who has always wanted different things via the traditional standard of how Ladies should live. I am a software engineer and in the next paragraphs, I will be telling you what actually made me want to become a software engineer.

Initially, as a little girl, I was born different as I always questioned the status quo and that made me want to achieve a lot wanting to be an engineer, it inspired me because I wanted to solve problems and be a solution provider. Now you may be wondering why all these stories are because I am headed somewhere. I gave this brief history to shadow my background and how it has helped me become who I am today.

Over to the article, in the next few paragraphs, I will be giving you the major reasons for choosing a career in software engineering.

lee-campbell-DtDlVpy-vvQ-unsplash.jpg

Who is a Software Engineer?

Software engineers design and create computer systems and applications to solve real-world problems. Software engineers, sometimes called software developers, create software for computers and applications.

Here are some of the reasons I wanted to become a problem solver and a solution developer:

  1. The creativity it births

WhatsApp Image 2022-08-22 at 2.16.37 PM.jpeg A whole lot of folks see programming as a boring, non-feminine career. It is seen as someone just sitting at a computer, writing codes, solving maths or like in African homes 'Always pressing computer'. But there's more to it, you are trying to solve problems and coming up with Solutions and creating something. It helps me think logically and critically, I could liken it to being an Artist. basically, throwing boring paints on a canvas, what's appreciated at the end is the result but more to it is the creativity that is birthed basically by playing with the paints. Everyone has a creative mind which we use daily and software engineering has made me utilize it even more because I have to think deeply and come up with an acceptable solution to problems. Some people streamline creativity to "brainstorming", or "combining ideas" but if you are not familiar with the techniques you will have a harder time solving the problems.

There are steps involved in creativity:

  • creative techniques
  • Technical knowledge
  • Communication
  • constraints
  • critical thinking
  • curiosity
  • creative mindset

Not listed above in sequential order, Software engineering cuts across all these steps and we are able to come up with Solutions to different problems.

  1. The freedom it gives:

WhatsApp Image 2022-08-22 at 2.16.38 PM.jpeg The Freedom of Belief is quite important when choosing a job. It gives me the leverage to choose and twitch my working conditions simply because I use a computer to work which can be done from anywhere. Companies have given me the leverage of appearing on a few days a week so far as I get the job done before the week runs out. I have the freedom to choose an area which could be Frontend development, backend development, User Interface/ User Experience, or Blockchain, and still have a good knowledge of all and as well twitch between them based on development needs and trends. I can work with a variety of programming languages and switch careers, I am not limited to any area. I have the leverage to learn new things. Remote work is very much embraced and accepted, which helps companies scale their organizations without people physically present.

  1. The financial returns

WhatsApp Image 2022-08-22 at 2.16.36 PM.jpeg Software Engineering is a huge paying job, you can study a little bit and get a high-paying job in a short time. The average salary of a junior software engineer is not less than $88, 000 to an analysis done by builtin dollars although it may vary due to other reasons. It is very lucrative that gives good rewards financially. It gives you peace of mind, and luxury and you can lead a quiet life in affluence. It is a seed with so many fruits which can't be over-emphasized.

  1. The need for a formal education

Software engineering gives us the opportunity to learn on our own in other words "self-taught". You can sit down in the comfort of your home and learn software engineering, build and get a job without getting anywhere. I know of a software engineer known as Clever Programmer, who is self-taught and trains others now. He didn't have any formal training but he is an authority in JavaScript, Python, and Blockchain technology. Certification becomes an advantage when your skill set and expertise are great. So I enjoy and love the fact that resources are free, and you can learn at your pace which gives you time to scale up. Looking at the open source industry gaining speedy recognition daily as we can contribute which gives us Creators the ability to be inclusive and present.

  1. The numerous job opportunities

WhatsApp Image 2022-08-22 at 2.16.34 PM.jpeg Prior to getting the know the average salaries of a software engineer, I was just passionate about it but it spurred me more. There are so many and numerous job opportunities in software engineering because it is not limited to a sphere, there are so many areas or rather careers in software engineering such as mobile, Web, cloud and so on which gives you the opportunity to select your area. These areas most times work hand in hand. Another reason for the numerous opportunities is the fact that every organization is embracing digitalization daily so giving rise to the hunt for required skills. Software engineering also being a very progressive field creates more job opportunities as newer technologies emanate.

Some Jobs include:

  • Applications developer
  • Cyber security analyst
  • Game developer
  • Information systems manager
  • IT consultant
  • Multimedia programmer
  • Web developer
  • Web designer
  • Software engineer
  1. Software engineering is a level growth platform

image.png Software engineering doesn't mind your background, ethnicity, language, or other barriers so far that you know your onions and you are ready to work hard, it can open up a lot of opportunities to you to excel. You don't necessarily need any connections, although networking and meeting people can speed up your career it can't hinder you necessarily. Nobody really cares about your background just be good.

Conclusion

It has been a long read and I would love to state the obvious, in your journey

  • You must be disciplined and consistent.
  • You must follow a standard curated learning path.
  • You must preserve and stay gritty.
  • Join an active community and network

" Never throw in the towel, Software engineering is a marathon, not a sprint and we all have different destinations and our rewards will all be huge. - Amara Metu " Hope it has been a good read.

Happy reading!

If you liked this article please follow me on Hashnode for my latest articles. I'm tweeting my journey on Twitter daily, this way to my LinkedIn . Hasnode

I share my knowledge on,

  • 🌐 Web Development
  • ✍️ Content Creation
  • 💼 Career Development
  • 🦾Personal Growth
  • BlockChain
  • And more!

Happy reading!